Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Feng Shui – Is your Bed Positioned facing the right direction?

with 24 comments

I think I might be going a bit Feng shui mad at the moment but I have just found this article on what direction to position your bed in order to maximise the chi. Fascinating stuff ! I did not use to believe that the bedroom environment was particularly important.Well, I didn’t pay any particular attention to my bedroom. After graduating at university (I surprised even my neurologist – but I am stubborn and once I have made up my mind to do something I will succeed), I spent 6 months painting and living in a small room. It wasn’t the brightest idea because of all the toxins and my overall health suffered. I believe that Feng shui is based on common sense. In most cases there is a natural explanation to why it ‘s recommended to do this and to do that.

Depending on which direction you position the bed, you will have various other advantages through Feng Shui. For example, you can place your bed either facing East, South East, West, North West or South West for best results.

West :When you face your bed west, you create the best conditions for a good night’s sleep. West is contentment. However contentment can also bring with it laziness and low motivation, so starting a new career while your bed is facing this direction might not be the best idea. This is ideal for people who already have a good career going.

East: Eastern positioning of your bed will make you feel that every day is a new day indeed. If you are young, just starting out, this is the perfect way to sleep. This brings out in any person feelings of ambition and growth and it easily promotes career expansion.

South East: This is for people who have trouble communicating as it promotes good communication, an enhanced creativity and a rather active life.

South West: If you are rather restless, facing your bed the South West direction will calm you down and make you feel at peace with all there is. You will also have a feeling of being more settled in your life and relationship.

What you should avoid instead is placing your sleeping quarters in bad positions for Feng Shui, such as North, North East and South.

North: North can increase various sleep disorders such as insomnia and make you rather lethargic in your life. This position is often called the ‘death position’. If you are an older person, such as a senior citizen, this position might be good for you as it really promotes a calmness and tranquility that you can mostly benefit from.

North East: This can easily give nightmares to a person and make one feel at edge at all times. It brings out strong emotions.

South: South is really bad for sleep as the energy surrounding it is rather high. If you find yourself in many heated arguments in your relationship, one way to minimize those is to change the direction of your sleeping quarters.

Reference: Feng Shui Tips for Your Bedroom for a Positive Chi

Written by Queen of Sleep

October 23, 2010 at 12:15 pm

Posted in Lifestyle Tips

Tagged with

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] following posts in the past on how to Feng Shui your bedroom: Feng Shui for Better Deeper Sleep! , Feng Shui – Is your Bed Positioned facing the right direction? and Last Feng Shui Post on the Bedroom […]

  2. Rather interesting information.

    I am new to feng shui, but am rather interested, usually I slept faceing west, but yesterday read a website that said there are east people and west people and that my number was nine and it told me that south was teh best direction to sleep in or east, but now i read ur website and realised it is not as straight forward so thank u for what u posted now I see that all the directions can be good or bad based on what mood we are in and our situation

    me

    January 17, 2011 at 1:16 am

    • actually, you are right. It all depends on your kua number, as people of the east group will totally differ from people of the west group. auspicious directions are different for both groups, so I’ll say that it is not as clear cut as the article says.

      Pat

      November 22, 2012 at 2:53 pm

  3. I have always made it a point to have my bed on an east wall facing west and this was always the most restful sleep that I had. My husband thought I was just mad and becuase of the where he wanted to put the airconditoner in the room, moved the headboard to the south wall facing NORTH!!! I have not slept for almost a year, have been insomniac, and have had horrible dreams. I think he is going to have to sweat. After much research, the bed is going back to the west

    terri

    June 14, 2012 at 7:53 pm

  4. I just started my first stage in reading feng shui. My first concern is where to place my bed? After reading a little from this post, I have have on question on how to tell where is my bed facing? Facing, is it where our bed of the headboard or where our feet is pointing toward? My bed headboard is on the south west of the wall and my feet is pointing toward the north west. Is my bed facing north or southwest? Yeah, I am really new and trying to figure out what is facing or location? Many Thanks.

    Linda

    January 7, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    • The direction is where your head points. All is based on magnetism and electromagnetic waves. Our bodies are receptors and the head is the main antenna. That said energy can flow through the feet or the head. For example, If the bottom part of your legs are always cold we can blame this on poor circulation (or weak veins) – but we also can say you are not grounded enough. Too cerebral perhaps, this can be countered by meditation and breathing exercises focusing on rooting your feet deep within the earth. From experience it does change how you see and life your life.

      Student 54

      June 21, 2013 at 1:33 pm

  5. having had terrible sleepless nights, i remember from years past something about east to west for sleeping so moved my bed from the middle of the room to behind the door ,felt right straight away no more sleepless nights and more space in bedroom . my family are still laughing at me wait till they get older and have sleeplessnights they will be glad to try anything.

    mrs janet stone

    July 1, 2013 at 12:52 pm

  6. I recently went to a talk for Vedic Vaastu Sastra (Vedic Feng Shui) and found out that Sleeping with your head facing north is the absolute worst sleeping position imaginable, and wouldn’t you know it my health and life went to south (pun intended) ever since i moved in to my new place that had the bed headboard towards the north. Sure enough I made some changes to the bed position and now sleep with my head facing South-East. My health has improved tremendously and I feel more energetic each day. Its incredibly egotistical to think that we, little organisms living on Mother earth’s surface are not affected by her vibrations and magnetic field. I sure learned the hard way.

    hyipcore

    October 9, 2013 at 4:19 am

  7. Hi a bed under a sloping window is that ok

    Regards
    Meena

    Meena

    October 30, 2013 at 8:38 am

  8. Does “facing,” refer to the direction head of the bed is pointed, or the foot.

    Lauren

    February 24, 2017 at 1:26 am

  9. Oh my little feng shui amateur- please look into and understand the annual flying stars of feng shui before espousing general advice. How each person lays her head is very individual- are you an east type or a west type of person? Where is the grand duke? Your advice is well meaning, but geomantically speaking simplistic and well- wrong for being too general. Magic is powerful baby. Don’t dumb it down because you culturally appropriate without origin research.

    Queen of Darkness

    November 13, 2017 at 6:26 am

    • For more detailed advice find an appropriate (for you) feng shui master! I know a lot of experts in various fields but not one Feng Shui Master I could confidently recommend ( I am always on the side of caution because I have met so many who pretend in life to politely express myself) perhaps you do? I am sure it would help people who read this thread. Please share! QoS

      Queen of Sleep

      April 11, 2019 at 12:49 am

  10. When you say (for instance) facing west, do you mean your headboard should be positioned on the west facing wall, or that your feet should face towards the west?

    Robert Orr

    December 9, 2017 at 9:25 am

  11. Is the bed facing the direction the headbord is in, or the direction a person is facing when in the bed? So, a bed facing SE is positioned in the NW?

    Leah

    December 19, 2017 at 7:46 am

  12. […] I’ll try to Feng Shui my room a bit more, because apparently sleeping North (which I am) can cause insomnia and […]

  13. according to classical feng shui, optimal direction is dependent on bazi which is personalized based on your birth date and time.

    AAA

    July 22, 2018 at 3:37 am

    • For more detail on how to position your bed – have a personalised reading done by an expert! I am not a Feng shui master! It takes a lifetime of study and I loose too much time to sleep already! If you can recommend a Fengshui master / website that could be useful to readers that would most welcome. QoS

      Queen of Sleep

      April 11, 2019 at 12:29 am

  14. Article says face bed 100 times but how does a person face a bed… Do you stand outside and look at the bed from across the room… Is feet in the west facing west? Maybe the direction the head points is the facing direction?

    Id be better off randomly spinning bed than guessing what this author is saying.

    Wayne Hiborn

    November 15, 2018 at 2:36 pm

    • Stand by the footwell of the bed and look at your bed – What direction are you facing? Your feet are facing directly opposite – so if your head is facing north your feet (hopefully) are facing south. Lets not make it too complicated! Go with what makes you feel most comfortable and safe.

      Queen of Sleep

      April 11, 2019 at 12:17 am

  15. […] face – to touch on the idea of considering how a room layout effects things. I looked over the Queen of Sleep’s thoughts on Feng Shui and, while surprised at her interpretation of directional meanings (my […]

  16. I can attest that I Allways sleep better when I sleep in my couch!!!! My head to EAST my Feet to WEST.
    Lately, i found my husband doing the same thing, because he sleep better. Conclusion? WE are going to
    change the position of our bed in the bedroom. and the guest rooms. It does make so much sense. PS. I even fall asleep sooner. jerryweeks42@hotmail.com

    Adriana Weeks

    April 13, 2019 at 7:21 pm


Leave a comment