Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Light Channelled to Brain through Ear Canal: The Valkee is Here!

with 10 comments

Valkee - Light headphones

When ever I go to Sweden to visit my family, I try and keep an eye out for new thinking, therapies, products that fight the winterblues. After all Scandinavia gets pretty dark during the wintermonths although the snow lights up the landscape somewhat many people struggle with SAD/Winter blues. So I was not surprised to read about the Valkee from Finland. Like most useful products, it came about because it filled a need that wasn’t being covered as effectively by other products/companies out there. It all started when Antti Aunio asked his childhood friend Juuso Nissilä if he had any tips on how to improve his mood during the winter months and he replied: “You don’t need bright light in your house. You need to light up your brain – that’s where your mood lives”. I know, it might sound as surreal as the Moomins that we have a collection of moods that live in our brain, a small mood collective but it is true.

The Valkee is a new light therapy product, also referred to a light headphones, that channels light through the ear canal to photosensitive regions in the brain. It has been tested by the Swedish University Uleaborg to see how effective it would be in the treatment of SAD (seasonal affective disorder) and the results have been incredibly positive. According to the company Valkee when you use the light headphones you only need to use them 6-12 minutes a day because the light doesn’t have as far to travel in comparasion with regular light therapy. This will be top on my next birthday/Christmas wishlist! Here is a link to some reviews on the company’s website. Check also out evidence: 92% of SAD/winter blues sufferers that tested the product experienced total symptom relief when used daily for 8-12 minutes.

The Valkee doesn’t just treat SAD and Winterblues. Valkee increases energy, and can act as a preventative or treatment of mood swings, reduce the need for excess sleep and help regulate the circadian rythm. It can also be beneficial for PMT/PMS symptoms. They are also planning to test the effectiveness of using the valkee in treating anxiety.

The Valkee is a product of the 21st century. It works, it fits into any lifestyle,it’s portable and it’s damn sexy. AND Valkee has CE Class II(a) medical device certification and has been clinically tested.

“I have been testing this in many ways. I tried going without Valkee for 5 days to see if there was a difference. I got immediately the migraine and restless legs back! I will not leave my Valkee anymore! THANKS! ” -Feedback email to Valkee, Female 30 years

I wonder what it could do to improve the symptoms of Narcolepsy? If you have one and have tried it please leave a comment to let me know how you got on!

 

 

Written by Queen of Sleep

February 6, 2012 at 12:37 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My first impulse was that this sounded like nonsense, akin to strapping magnets to your head or sitting under a pyramid. After reading your review, I’m still sceptical but my mind has opened a little. Are there any plans to do clinical research on this device or others like it?

    William Behun

    February 6, 2012 at 1:28 pm

  2. All of the research that I have read on Seasonal Affective Disorder says that the light must be absorbed through the eyes. I am having my doubts that it works as claimed and I never trust the research that a company puts out on their own product, because of course they want to sell their product. I have an Apollo light box that I use and it would be wonderful to have a portable unit like this, but I need to hear endorsements from users who made the purchase and have nothing to gain by making positive claims.

    Susan

    April 1, 2012 at 6:38 pm

  3. Those, who don’t benefited from the use of these earplugs: get your ears syringed first! 🙂

    Darick

    May 16, 2012 at 10:23 am

    • I wrote to the company that produces the Valkee about a month ago, asking them if I could carry out a trial of their product. I still have not even received a reply which I think is really poor customer service. If the product did work then it would spread like wildfire through the N communities in the UK but so far nothing. Apologies for sounding sceptical but if they don’t reply they are as far as I am concerned only as good as their product. Buhu for the staff at Valkee!

      Queen of Sleep

      May 17, 2012 at 3:05 pm

      • Did you get a reply from us (at Valkee) at the end of the day. If not, please drop me an e-mail at pekka[dot]somerto[at]valkee[dot]com. Best, Pekka / Valkee Oy

        Pekka

        September 22, 2012 at 5:38 am

      • Hello Pekka,
        No I never did get a reply from Valkee. Thanks for your comment and leaving your email, I will email you shortly. QoS

        Queen of Sleep

        October 9, 2012 at 9:19 pm

  4. I bought it last year and it did not work for me. I don’t recommend it

    Paula

    October 30, 2012 at 1:40 pm


Leave a Reply

