Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

New disability test ‘is a complete mess’, says the man who designed it | Politics | The Guardian

with one comment

New disability test ‘is a complete mess’, says the man who designed it | Politics | The Guardian.

He adds that the current test is “terribly malfunctioning”. I couldn’t agree more but the new test has been/will be designed by the same person who created the ESA test. It’s a big BUT, considering the whole form only applies to you if you have visible disabilities. When will the systems acknowledge neurological disorders? According to ESA they can’t exist at all because there is no questions nor space relating to this type of question. In Tory land neurological difficulties will probably be completely erased to fit in the Big Society!

I do agree with the article that it is good to review cases now and again, especially the long term ill but wouldn’t it be much more bareable if their attitude was one of support and guidance rather than strategic ticking to consciously fail applicants because “Drs.” have to fail xyz cases a day?

Every time I go for a “medical” interview, I regress the progress I have made health wise in the last three months. I panic because they don’t want to hear me, they don’t want to listen. The Dr. thinks I am lying. Occasionally, when I get the report I don’t even think I have been in the same room as the man/woman interviewing me. I could rant all day about the stress that these interviews induce in me and friends with narcolepsy but I won’t, why waste energy when it’s so precious to me? 😉

Written by Queen of Sleep

February 23, 2011 at 12:17 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] New disability test ‘is a complete mess’, says the man who designed it | Politics | The… Article from the 13th of August […]


Leave a Reply

