Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

What colour is Narcolepsy?

with 2 comments

Narcolepsy by Sodapop

Narcolepsy by Sodapop

I love colour and the importance of colour in all areas of our lives. We communicate with the world using colour on a daily basis and it’s also is an important part of our identity. Everywhere we make choices in regards to the colours we surround and decorate ourselves with. My favourite colours are white, black, red, turquoise, purple, green and orange. Perhaps too many but what can I say? I love them all! Even brown and gray have their moments of worship in my life.

Narcolepsy by Jimmyjames

Narcolepsy by Jimmyjames

I am particularly interested in how certain colours affect our moods, their ability to trigger states of concentration and focus (yellow), healing and relaxation (green), irritability and passion (red) and sleepiness (black! :)).

Colorlovers.com is a website for people who are passionate about colour where you can create  and name your own colours and share your colour ideas and projects with like-minded people.
Just for fun, I thought I’ll search to see if anyone has

Narcolepsy by Kseidule

Narcolepsy by Kseidule

named their colour combination “Narcolepsy”. What colour do people perceive that narcolepsy have? I was surprised to find quite a few entries named narcolepsy. A majority of the colours lean towards blue and purple. Visit colourlovers.com and put narcolepsy in the search box to see the entire list.

I have chosen of few of the colours that came up on the search on narcolepsy along with the name of the username of the creator just because I find them amusing.

Narcolepsy by Kiwieran

Narcolepsy by Kiwieran

Narcolepsy by Souredpoison

Narcolepsy by Souredpoison

Written by Queen of Sleep

January 6, 2011 at 7:27 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love it that you have this post as I was searching for color therapy for narcolepsy. I am uncertain whether to recommend a color like red, orange or yellow to stimulate the survival and action chakras or whether that would be too over stimulating and use up all her energy at once. Green is the color of the heart chakra and healing on a cellular level as well as representative of the era we live in. I think once you get to blue, indigo and violet those are associated with sleepiness. In your experience is there a color which makes you feel more awake?

    Elizabeth Garcia

    October 4, 2012 at 5:20 am

    • I find the colour red quite consuming but lighter pinks (not with a blue base they get a bit too chilly) quite relaxing without being tiring. If you are thinking orange – I would use I mild orange like a soft lighter version of mandarin. Personally I love green (lighter moss greens, blue greens and creme green colours but the most energy generous of all is yellow because it is not only the colour of sunshine/light but of happiness! I love lemon yellow! Well, the whole white/yellow ranges (apart from the ones with a red base) are beautiful and uplifting!
      Personally, I have had to work a lot on light blue – the throat chakra. It was blocked for years as I got progressively worse. It makes sense because of the very nature of living with uncontrolled narcolepsy. Communication with the external world becomes problematic due to extreme sleep deprivation.

      Queen of Sleep

      October 9, 2012 at 9:09 pm


Leave a Reply

