Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Starbucks again *&%**

with 2 comments

I don’t know what it is about Starbucks that seems to irritate me beyond my limits. Earlier in the year I wrote about an occasion when I was queuing to buy an overpriced sandwich in Starbuck’s I needed it pronto because my energy levels were getting close to dipping. I don’t know if you know what I mean, but I used to go from sleepy-dazed-white faced to green faced and then I would have to go home or rest on the spot. Anyway, I was queuing and waiting to pay for the sandwich meanwhile the staff were serving the customers ahead of me in the queue. The staff seemed totally clueless and the customers didn’t know what they wanted or changed their minds repeatedly. I felt my face going white grey getting more and more impatient – frustrated and irritated. Felt the sandwich slip out of my hand and 4 seconds later I was on the floor listening to everybody panicking around me. Still, furious, I was thinking, I was just trying to buy a sandwich gr – appalling customer service – gr – no don’t call an ambulance – gr -I am fine. Luckily, I had a friend with me who could speak on my behalf but it made me feel so guilty being angry and then they all treat me so sweetly when I go all cataplectic on them.

Yesterday, a similar incident almost happened in another Starbucks. You are probably thinking now – why does she keep going into Starbucks? Don’t ask! Free wi-fi and it’s more comfortable than McDonald’s. I get irritated with another Starbucks barista who was just slouching around the place looking moody and pissed off. I had to grab a table, my upper body shook for about 2 minutes verging on falling but I managed to control my outbreak by changing my thoughts. Normally if I think of something really horrible something that would really hurt me then my mind seems to interpret the current difficulty as insignificant and my body calms down. Remember that the brain does not differentiate between reality and imagined reality so I wonder if it is a good approach, still, it stops my attacks quite effectively. I don’t have time to manipulate my emotions if the cataplexy comes on quickly. Do I really care about the quality of Starbuck’s service? No! Who cares about arrogant or ignorant baristas? I obviously do (oh horror!)! It’s very likely it’s a hangover from working as a waitress in my teens.

Written by Queen of Sleep

December 17, 2010 at 9:25 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for sharing!!! Now yiu know why they call it STARSUCKS!!!!!!

    kiki

    December 18, 2010 at 2:58 pm


Leave a Reply

