Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Inception and “Dreaming”

with 4 comments

Inception

Last week I watched “Inception” featuring Leonardo Di Caprio, Ken Watanabe, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Marion Cotillard and Ellen Page et al. I had to see this film because of the theme: Dream incubation.  The film was written, produced and directed by the Brit Christopher Nolan. If you haven’t seen the film or know what’s it about you can read the story line, plot and scenario here: Inception on Wikipedia. You will find the official website here: Inception. Theories, FAQ’s on IMB: Inception faq’s. If you want to know more about the different theories the film is based on The faq’s on IMB makes for some fascinating reading. I read 3/4 of the faq’s after watching the movie but after a while I got so confused I decided to stay true to my own interpretation. Partly because, I believe the way a person perceives art is part of the artwork and in this case part of the film. The experiential reality of watching the film becomes important just because there are so many possible interpretations. Perhaps if I were to watch the film in a few years time, I will see something different. It is the beauty of great art and I believe that the concept of this film is incredibly adventurous and bravely  executed.

The question that most viewers ultimately will ask after watching the film: How does it end? Does Cobb get back to reality? followed by what is reality in the film? which also here starts to include the viewer: are we watching the film in reality? There are obviously many theories on that question that I am not really going to investigate now (Puh!). In the faq’s on IMB they suggest that the answer to the question if Cobb has come back to reality really depends on the viewer’s personal worldview. Do you have an optimistic one or a pessimistic worldview? I guess the optimistic end means that Cobb is back in reality with his children and the pessimistic worldview means that he is still caught in limbo or in one of the dream layers. I disagree that the second is a pessimistic worldview because, at this point Cobb has forgiven himself for what he did to Mal (his dead wife) so he is free to choose his fate. He does not seem to care if he is in reality or not because he is where he wants to be namely with his children. In the last scene he does check his token to see if he is in a dream/limbo or in reality. If you want to read more about the theories follow the link above.

This film made me realise why I can so easily engage in basic visual image work, meditation, shamanistic practises etc. When I got my first symptoms at the age of 14, I was in a stage of practically dreaming all the time. Without thinking about it, when I went to bed I would choose a dream out of let’s say 4-5 that I had accessible in my “near”? memory. Then I would  start to think about how the dream began, actions in the dream, faces, environments, colours, emotions that the dream awoke in me…..until I was sleeping, then the dream would continue all by itself. It was almost like putting a video tape into a recorder and press play. Sometimes I did it out of enjoyment and other times because I wanted to change the outcome. Now I realise that I practised dreaming because the skills I acquired have been very useful for all sorts of visual and meditative work.

When you participate in guided visual meditation, there is a point when you can stop creating the scene and it takes on a life of its own. I am really fascinated by this process and the step between control and well almost giving life to the idea. Where does it start and how does it start? Sometimes it feels like gently falling on a banana peel and at other times you don’t even notice when you stop creating visual imagery. I think, it’s linked to the creative process artists experience when they write, paint or write music. Some artists even claim that they did not create – it was given to them from a greater power/force/divine inspiration.

Sweet dreams! (or are you dreaming already?)

Written by Queen of Sleep

November 27, 2010 at 9:54 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] 2. My next suggestion is: Inception the DVD. I reviewed the film a few weeks ago and you can find my post on it here. […]

  2. […] Queen of sleep reviews the film Inception […]

  3. I hardly write comments, however i did some searching and wound up here Inception and Dreaming Queen of Sleep.
    And I do have a few questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be just me or does it look as if like a few
    of the remarks come across as if they are coming from brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are posting at additional places, I would like to follow everything fresh you have to post.
    Could you list of every one of your community pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    Caitlin

    December 14, 2012 at 7:47 am


Leave a Reply

