Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Brain Training Games

with 2 comments

Brain Age 2

In the article: 7 Ways to Improve Your Memory and Keep Your Brain Young by Cyndi Sarnoff-Ross the author recommends word games such as crossword puzzles and Sudoku to help strengthen cognitive abilities. I remember watching people getting caught in the Sudoku craze a few years ago and thinking “What’s the point ?”.  I find it easier to understand the pleasure in completing a crossword puzzle.  I eventually warmed up to solving Sudoku in the Metro whilst travelling on the London underground. I used to test myself to see if all could do three in xyz stops because it helped me to stay awake on the train. Trains are dark, warm and it’s seductively easy to fall asleep, and before you know it you have missed your stop by 5 stations.

Brain Challenge

I enjoyed playing Brain Age 2 on Nintendo DS for a while but after some time the game began to feel stale and I change to Brain Challenge. While I was playing these games I was extremely sleep deprived but I managed to concentrate on the game for short periods of time, which with time grew longer i.e. my concentration span increased slowly.

Brain Challenge felt newer and contained more games. It was also more vibrant and fun.  Next I tried MyWordCoach. It is probably the Nintendo “Brain training” game that I have enjoyed the most because you are actively increasing your vocabulary so it’s useful in everyday life too. As I started to recover, I eventually stopped playing completely naturally but not after having completed Lego Batman and GTA: Chinatown. The “brain training” games have now become more sophisticated for example Nintendo’s  Zenses series.

Written by Queen of Sleep

November 26, 2010 at 11:52 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I wrote about the benefits playing games to treat depression and improve cognitive functions in: Brain Training Games. So, when I saw this article in the Guardian today I felt a need to add […]

  2. […] my previous blogs on Brain Training Games and More on the Benefits of Playing Brain Training […]


Leave a Reply

