Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Queen of Sleep at the Hairdressers

leave a comment »

Vidal Sassoon Haircut

Today, I have been to the hairdressers and it made me think of what going to the hairdressers used to be like for me…..

3-4 years ago, I went to the Vidal Sassoon School of Hairdressing to receive a student haircut. I had the time and thought why not try their offer of a 12pound haircut? I was well aware that it could take 3-4 hours and that I could potentially end up with a haircut that I was not that keen on. I got there at 10am, waited in the reception area with quite a large group of people. All of a sudden, a young man in his early 30’s asked if I had come for a haircut. I replied: yes. Then he asked me about my hair, blah blah blah. Actually he did not say at all where we were going or what he had in mind for my hair but I went along with it. First he asked a student to quickly dye my hair to improve the overall quality of the colour. He chose a dark brown leaning towards a dark red shade. Then he asked me to follow him again, and so I did. We went to a room full of clients and hairdressers, and waited. After 5-10min, we went into another room which contained an audience. Hairdressers from all over the world were seated in the back of the room on high chairs. They had come to see “the Vidal Sassoon” haircut being created right in front of their eyes. My eyes googled a bit when I saw all the Japanese faces waiting in anticipation. As you might know, going to the hairdressers is not/or was not easiest task for me. 1 hour is fine as long as they don’t put me in some kind of heat generating machine. 2 hours in front of an audience?

I fell asleep, and woke up, fell asleep and woke up about 4-5 times. It was slightly torturous. My mind turned numb whilst my hairdresser kept poking, pulling and cutting. I felt groggy and of course the audience could see what was going on but they all kept a straight face and focussed on my hair. I got an amazing haircut, sharp, edgy and feminine so in the end it was worth the extra effort.

Today, I did not fall asleep at all. My hairdresser was really sweet and conscientious and I will return to her again and again. I am amazed that something that used to be really hard work for me, today has become quite enjoyable.

 

Written by Queen of Sleep

November 23, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Leave a Reply

