Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Shakti Mat Day 1: Can Queen of Sleep improve the quality of her sleep in 10 days?

with 2 comments

I was sent a Shakti Mat in the post to try for 10days to see if it would improve the quality of my night time sleep, all courtesy of Shakti Mat (www.shaktimat.co.uk). Thank you Shakti Mat!

Before I start to tell you about my personal experiences of lying on a bed of nails for ten days.  I would like to introduce you to the Mat:

The Shakti Mat is a contemporary version of the Indian “bed of nails’ whose origin is rooted in the 5,000 year-old Vedic tradition – the practise of attaining perfect balance of body, mind and spirit. The original bed of nails was made of wood and metal spikes. Today, thanks to the cleverly designed use of new, gentler materials, this ancient self-healing tool of the mystics has been reintroduced into the modern world as the Shakti Mat!  The Mat helps you to reach a state of deepened relaxation and it’s according to ancient eastern knowledge, in this state the body’s intelligent healing can begin. They say that Chronic fatigue, aching backs and insomnia are often signs that we have forgotten the art of relaxation.

Why would someone with narcolepsy benefit from the Shakti Mat?

There are several theories on how narcolepsy develops in the body. One theory is that the sleep disorder develops as the result of chock and trauma in combination i.e. the body experiences extreme stressors that in the long-term effect the body’s ability to produce orexin/hypocretin, which regulates the sleep/wake cycle.

I believe that the deep relaxation that the Shakti Mat promises might help to alleviate some of the symptoms by reducing the amount of cortisol (ne) in the body at night-time and induce deeper sleep.

Original Green Shakti Mat

Original Green Shakti Mat

I was so excited when the original green Shakti Mat arrived in the post. The mat also comes with a carrier bag so you can take it with you on your travels. Before starting to use the mat –I recommend reading the leaflets carefully that accompanies the mat. I didn’t! Oops! …and started with a “Basic positions” pass of 55 min straight away. They recommend that you start with 10 minutes a day until you get used to the plastic spikes.  At this point, increase the time spent on the mat to 20-40min

The first time, I saw the spikes, I have to admit, and I got a little bit worried. What have I gotten myself into? I decided to do the Mat exercises in the evening and hour or two before bedtime as relaxation is recommended afterwards. As I lay down on the mat  – I thought it’s just like a swim in the sea in springtime…. Hum! hum! Initially, it was a bit painful but the more I relaxed the less painful it became. The last 5 minutes of the Back and Neck position – I felt totally OK, not pleasurable but warm and slighty tingly. This first time, I found the Face/Jaw position and Lower Back/Hips/Buttocks position the most sensitive (I should have started with 10minutes a day to ease my way into using the mat!) but Back/Neck and Abdomen position really beneficial and very close to enjoyable.

Now, I am going to bed to see if I can sleep a little better tonight. I feel a bit giggly already and my lower back is buzzing slightly –It must be the serotonin release that is making me smile. Good night!

The following morning (Day 1.):

When I woke up this morning, I thought, I have not slept at all! I didn’t sleep for very long! The night just disappeared! However, I was alert and ready to get up to take my medication. It didn’t feel like a struggle and I didn’t have to go back to bed for a nap to wait for the medication to work. It was a strange and unusual feeling, perhaps this is was most people call sleep?

Written by Queen of Sleep

October 28, 2010 at 8:38 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you so much for this post which I found from your reference to Caroline Myss’s work which I use to heal others. A friend has a young daughter who was recently diagnosed with Narcolepsy but I believe that all illness has a spiritual or dietary resolution. I have even tried contacting Caroline directly to ask her about this condition with no reply. Information on this subject is very rare. Thanks for the info on the Shaki Mat. Please update so I can follow your progress.

    Elizabeth Garcia

    October 4, 2012 at 12:13 am

    • It would be very interesting to hear what C. Myss would say about narcolepsy. Please let me know if you get a reply.
      I will be writing an update of my progress on the blog shortly. I haven’t been writing very regularly lately because i have had to give 100% of my focus and energy on getting better. So for a while I decided to take a step away from the blog. Hope to hear from you soon and thank you so much for your comments and support.

      Queen of Sleep

      October 9, 2012 at 9:17 pm


Leave a Reply

