Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Vision Board

leave a comment »

A few weeks ago, I started to make a vision board. A vision board is a simple yet powerful visualization tool that activates the universal law of attraction, to begin manifesting your dreams into reality. The concept of the vision board (also known as a dream board, goal map etc) has been around for thousands of years but was recently made popular by the release of  “The Secret”.

Put every thing you want to have, do or be on the board. Take care what you put on the board. A friend of mine showed her board to some friends. They started giggling. Why? She had put several images of babies on the map but forgotten to put a man on it. She went home and found an image of David Beckham that she thought was attractive. I wouldn’t say no to a man like that she said.  She never met David Beckham (or at least not yet) but she started getting work and hanging out with established tattoo artists. The image of David Beckham was half-naked and he was covered in tattoos. So, it might not always work the way you think it should…

I have always been a bit like “I don’t know what I want”. How boring is that? Yes, super boring. So, as I figure out what I want I find an appropriate image to represent what I want to have, be or do. The first image I attached was a Shakti Mat. If it could help me sleep better at night that would be amazing. The second image I put up was of a woman practising yoga in a backbend pose. Her body is strong and powerful yet flexible and lean. That’s the body I am aiming for! Now, I need to think what more I want …perhaps a flat or a house that is light with big windows that is situated somewhere in  warm a desert like landscape. I have got some more work to do.

Does the vision board work? Does the law of attraction work?

1. Shakti mat image: A few days, after publishing the post on the Shakti Mat, Annelie from Shakti Mat commented on my writing and suggested a few more links on this amazing product. I emailed her back and it turns out that she would like me to try the Shakti mat and report back to them and you if I experience any improvements in my sleep patterns.

2. Female Yogic image: I found myself seeing yoga wherever I look and going to the gym often. Last Wednesday, I tried Sahara yoga (I will tell you more about it later – it was an experience). Today, I got a letter from my Expert Patients meet-up group informing me about a session at the end of the month offering a free Laughing Yoga class. Very Strange, but I have to try it! I have seen clips of it on TV shows from the US. On Sunday, I will try Ashtanga Yoga for the first time. Today, I picked up free Yoga tickets to the Yoga conference I informed you about at Olympia later this month. Let’s see what more the law of attraction can do….hopefully minimize my bum too;) No, it will be my blood sweat and tears that move that mountain!

Wikihow have a good page on How to Make a Vision Board

Selfgrowth also has one on How to Use a Vision Board and they also explain the Law of Attraction

The Secret official website

Written by Queen of Sleep

October 15, 2010 at 8:47 pm

Leave a Reply

