Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

The Power of Meditation

with 3 comments

I have been meditating now and again for a few years. Mainly because my friends had a routine and I joined in. I have always thought it might/will be useful for me. Just sitting in the same room as someone who is meditating is lovely. They radiate warm and calming energy that is just pure bliss. It helps me to sleep so much better than any pharmaceutical. Yesterday, I decided to start my own practise. I have a candle to focus on, or I can close my eyes. I have found this amazing medicinal incense from Neil’s Yard called Tibetan herbal Incense. It does not contain any harmful toxins and is completely safe. You decide yourself if you want to meditate alone or in group. It is usually more powerful in a group but I prefer to meditate alone or with close friends.

There are several different types of meditation and groups that meet up regularly. If you are completely new, you might benefit from a short course or guided meditation. Meditation Basics from the author of “Meditation For Dummies” can be found here.

I chose to meditate at some point between  5-7 am and 5-7pm every day. If I miss the afternoon meditation, that’s fine.  This morning I set the alarm for 5am. I got up meditated  for 20min and then went back to bed. There is no need to follow these times. Just do what feels right for you.

My mind is chattering like a mad monkey at the moment, and I am trying to acknowledge it, patiently waiting for it to run out of steam. It will. Once when I went to a Tibetan monastery and meditated in a group with a master for about 40-1hour my mind decided to show a slide show of my life so far. It was so fast, and I got vertigo. It slightly worried me and I silently stayed away from meditation for a while. Later on, I spoke to a man who practises transcendental meditation and he said that it was nothing to worry about. Apparently, it is quite common, when you start to meditate.

Why would I meditate? I want to be more in control of my mind! I feel controlled by my emotions through cataplexy attacks, certain dream states and a heightened sensitivity in general. I also want to look into possibilities of healing my mind through meditation. I find this article informative on the subject of ” How Meditation Changes your Brain” .

Have I fallen asleep during meditation? Many times! Apparently, falling asleep is very common so if you decide to meditate in a group no one is going to find it strange!


Written by Queen of Sleep

October 14, 2010 at 3:00 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. so proud of you and watching you on this journey is very encouraging. thanks for sharing the ride 🙂

    tara q.

    October 15, 2010 at 7:31 am

  2. I love this piece….meditation is the best way to calm the mind. they have been telling us for eons that it works and it really does!!!!! I need to get back to the UK and meditate……

    kiki

    October 31, 2010 at 5:17 pm


Leave a Reply

