Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

More Clarity

with one comment

The sun is shining and my new non-smoking, non-drinking, healthier eating plan is all going well. Eating almost no sugar at all is a huge change for my body, some days I have been light-headed other days overly emotional. I think exercising has helped to diminish the side-effects. If I have any cravings I have been snacking on dried fruit, nuts and seeds. I know dried fruit contains sugar but I my intention is not to go to extremes but to regulate my unhealthy food intake, or balance healthy and not so healthy foods. In the past, I have sometimes gone to extremes and ended up aggressively dreaming about steaks or cakes.

Today my friend and “personal coach” is going to take me to the park for some boot camp exercises and running. I am already trying my best to re-program my brain so that I have a positive attitude to the running. I feel clearer and I love the autumn air because it is chilly and full of oxygen, it makes me happy and more alert.

I would like to get a SAD light. I have never tried them but apparently they are very helpful especially during the winter months of the year. Another friend of mine (non-narcoleptic) used one with an alarm to help him get up before sunrise. It made a huge difference to him to have a simulated sunrise and he could more easily get to the construction site where he worked. Have you tried the SAD lights? Which one is the best?What were your experiences? How would you like them to be? Any improvements? What brands did you try?

There is obviously no real substitute for the sun. If you try to get up to enjoy the hours between 10-12 every day, it helps to regulate the circadian rhythm, helps to regulate your sleep/awake hours better. During the winter months this is especially important.

Hope you have a sunny happy day!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this
    post plus the rest of the site is also very good.

    wendy wi

    September 26, 2013 at 9:30 am


Leave a Reply

