Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Athos Paperwork

with one comment

All paperwork that relates to narcolepsy and my life makes me anxious. What I feel and what I know is real are two completely different things. Living for so long (15 years) without a diagnosis, in denial and shame still lingers and sometimes still surface just to remind me that I do not have a problem and everything is perfectly normal. It’s a voice in my head that is angry and tired and fed up with all this nonsense and keeps telling me that narcolepsy is not real. I know that these feelings are not based in reality but are echoes of me coping before my diagnosis. The paperwork that has been sent to me from Athos medical services makes me angry, not the paperwork per se but the whole process. I am pretty sure that I will have to appeal and that will take another 6-8 months so it really doesn’t matter what I write because I don’t seem to fit into the system. I wonder if anyone does? I will do my best to complete the forms but it is an emotional struggle.

Written by Queen of Sleep

July 1, 2010 at 10:34 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.


Leave a Reply

