Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Therapy Update

with 2 comments

I have written about visiting my therapist in the past so here is an update. Today was my third visit. I was still very nervous about going although my rational self know that there is nothing to be worried about. It is what it is but this time for the very first time I felt a sense of relief almost a bit lifted after the visit.

I am not going because of my narcolepsy and cataplexy. There are strange behavioural patterns that I have developed because I was undiagnosed for so long that have now become redundant, so I want to look at them. I am also going because there is QoS and her narcolepsy and then there is me and my personal upbringing that feels  separate from the sleep disorder. A lot of people in the UK are sceptical of therapy or psychotherapy (or might just be keeping quiet), some even starts to protest a bit too loudly when I just mention the word. Even some narcoleptic friends of mine seem to dislike the idea. I have had experiences of psychologists suggesting no, telling me that they can cure my narcolepsy with therapy treatment. I, personally don’t believe that is possible – they are just nutty. Trust me I have met some crazy therapists. It is almost like they won’t believe it is a physical condition – just psychosomatic. That is just one of the reasons I am so pleased right now, that I have managed to find a therapist that suits me. Unfortunately, I didn’t find him on the NHS which means it is a costly affair but I am willing to try anything to improve my condition and quality of life, and by using a holistic approach I just know I am on the right track…

Written by Queen of Sleep

May 5, 2010 at 9:19 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I personally have wondered if my Narcolepsy was triggered by some of the psychological stress and therefore “issues” in my past, as there is some speculation that it can be brought on by some sort of trauma, as with other autoimmune disorders.

    I’m not sure I want to confirm that, since it would potentially open a can of worms and give me the opportunity to blame someone (or many someones), and need even MORE therapy, but I wonder even so.

    I, too, have a wonderful therapist (finally). Although I think she underplays the Narcolepsy sometimes, I have decided that is better than having her tell me I can’t do anything. At least she doesn’t call me lazy. She just cautions me not to cut myself short. I have developed a pretty bad fear of going back to work and risking another fiasco.

    Anyway…good luck. Know you’re not the only slightly nutty narco! ;o)

    Planet Narcolepsy

    May 6, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    • My can of worms is right there out in the open – and yes I have blamed people in my family, been angry, furious and sad but what happened is in the past and I can’t do anything about it now. What I still find unbelievable is that no one noticed that my behaviour was odd. In “highschool” they sent me to the nurse because I was hallucinating and screaming but no one really noticed just how tired I was. all the time.
      I, too, am worried about work. I have had so many jobs where I have been on automatic behaviour or just plainly fallen asleep sitting up (I became an expert in hiding the symptoms) – boring repetitive jobs are the worst. I worked in a baked bean factory for 3 weeks when I was a student – it was warm and every 20 minutes it was my job to remove a broken can off the conveyor belt. Can you imagine anything worse for a narcoleptic?

      Queen of Sleep

      May 13, 2010 at 7:04 pm


Leave a Reply

