Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Rome wasn’t built in a day

with one comment

As you know I have recently stopped eating wheat, dairy and sugar as recommended by my nutritionist. Wheat as easy, because I practised for weeks before I gave it up. Now I eat more soup, sushi, rice, rice pasta, wheatfree bread and wheatfree oats. Dairy became a little more problematic, partly because I love milk, yoghurt, cheese etc. My nutritionist said I should try to eliminate dairy products containing casein until the test results come back. So, I substituted milk with unsweetened organic soya milk (Provamel/Alpro). The chocolate soya drink is delicious, the banana taste syntetic and weird, and the vanilla I have not yet tried. You can drink it with coffee or tea. Have it with cereal, porridge or whatever you desire. Cheese will be replaced by goatcheese or similar. Yoghurt (natural, light) is still ok to eat. It is delicious with the granola recipie I posted yesterday, topped with some guava nectar. I still forget to substitute milk and cheese – just have to keep reminding myself.
The most difficult challenge was quitting sugar. I could barely cope with one day absence. I turn into a monster – raid the cupboards, impatient, rude, headaches and I need to sleep more. I still have not purchased the recommended supplements so I will wait until I receive the sugar balancing supplement in the post before I attempt to go completely sugarfree again. I have had withdrawal symptoms from wheat and dairy but they have been fairly mild.
I constantly have to tell myself to be nice to myself be patient and tell myself that I am doing really well. Rome wasn’t built in a day. One step at a time – and I will get there – to a healthier happier QoS

Written by Queen of Sleep

March 31, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi,

    I am Bjorn from the Provamel team. We are glad you like the soya milk. We also have soy variation on yoghurt which we call yofu and soy variation on margarine. Just have a look at our website http://www.provamel.com . In the meanwhile, good luck with building Rome! 😉

    Bjorn

    Bjorn

    April 1, 2010 at 6:52 am


Leave a Reply

