Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Anxiety and Social Phobia

leave a comment »

I started to experience anxiety in social situations right when the narcolepsy started to develop in 93-94 but it wasn’t until 2001 I started to experience panic attacks, shortness of breath and unexplained crying in pubs, clubs and social situations.

At this time of my life I started to feel as if I and I was two separate beings. The image of myself as I thought I was and how other people perceived me did not match. My speech started to become confused and I started to have difficulty explaining chains of events.

Tonight, I went to a friend’s birthday bash at a local pub/music venue. I prepared myself before hand ate and slept before I went out. Tried to think kind thoughts to myself throughout the evening. I met some lovely people and the music was good.

My brain never stop analysing. Before I know it I have analysed the band and the performance made all the necessary adjustments in my head to prepare them for a record deal. Styled them and deleted over indulgence and unnecessary details.  How crazy it that? I just want to enjoy myself. I don’t have an experience of managing a band – who do I think I am? It felt a bit mad. I also had a pint of cider. I know it contains sugar but my nutritionist said I should ease my way into my new diet. The cider made me feel really ill. So I don’t think I will be having any more alcohol for a very long time.

Apparently, anxiety and mood disorders are common with narcolepsy. Have a look at this

Written by Queen of Sleep

March 21, 2010 at 1:28 am

Leave a Reply

