Queen of Sleep

Living with narcolepsy: a personal journey

Symptom of Narcolepsy: Disturbed night- time sleep

leave a comment »

When I went into do my MSLT (Multi Sleep Latency Test) a few years ago, I had 38 awakenings during one night according to the paperwork. Most of the awakenings, I do not notice but I do know that I seem incapable of sleeping more than 2 hours at a time without waking up. If I take really strong pain killers – it works but who wants to get hooked on those? It drives me insane and keeps me up at night. I spend hours – It feels like in REM sleep and dream before I get any deep sleep (if i am lucky). Medications offered to narcoleptics does not target this – for many the main problem – disturbed night time sleep. Amphetamines and Modafinil keeps you up during the day. Some Amphetamines knocks you out completely though but they are as everybody knows addictive and will age the brain at a rapid rate. Now I am going back to bed – to hopefully sleep rather than dream – hey what wishful thinking…

Written by Queen of Sleep

March 18, 2010 at 2:25 am

Leave a Reply

